Fulton County residents who live in a home they own may be able to reduce property taxes by making sure they are taking advantage of all exemptions. This is especially important as property values continue to rise across Fulton County and the metro area.

To qualify for homestead exemptions, the property owner claiming the exemption must own, occupy, and claim the property as their legal residence on January 1 of the year in which they first qualify for the exemption.

In addition to basic homestead exemptions, there are other exemptions available for seniors.  These exemptions have requirements for both age and income. Some require an age of 62 and others require that the applicant is age 65 or 70. Exemptions are available for people qualifying for full disability and other special circumstances.

Homeowners must apply for exemptions—they do not take effect automatically.  Basic homestead exemptions renew each year automatically as long as you own the home.

Most senior exemptions also remain in place as long as you own the home. If any changes are made to the deed, even if the occupants remain the same, the resident will need to re-file for homestead exemption.

To apply, the resident will need to bring their driver’s license or Georgia ID and all vehicle registrations.  If they applying for a senior homestead exemption, he or she should also bring their Georgia and federal tax returns.

The first stop is the Fulton County Tax Assessors’ Office to apply for exemptions with Fulton County, Atlanta and Fulton County school systems and basic city exemptions (if any). Fulton County seniors who live in the cities of Alpharetta, College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Milton, Palmetto, Roswell or Union City should also contact their city directly about any available senior homestead exemptions.

The 2018 homestead exemption deadline is Monday, April 2. Fulton County residents can learn more online at www.fultonassessor.org or by calling 404-612-6440 X 4.



www.fultonassessor.org | 404-612-6440 X 4


Peachtree Center, North Tower

235 Peachtree Street, NE, Suite 1100,
Atlanta, GA 30303


Fulton County Government Center

141 Pryor Street, SW, Suite 1018
Atlanta, GA 30303


Fulton County Customer Service Center at Maxwell Road

11575 Maxwell Road
Alpharetta, GA 30022


North Fulton Service Center

7741 Roswell Road, NE, Suite 261
Atlanta, GA 30350


South Fulton Service Center

5600 Stonewall Tell Road, Suite 224
College Park, GA 30349


Whiteboard with text Property Taxes is isolated on the white background.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *