On September 21, Clayton County will hold a special election to fill the District 1 seat on the Board of Commissioners and the District 8 seat on the Board of Education. 

The voter registration deadline for the special election was August 23.

All ten candidates running for District 1 commissioner are Democrats. The seat has been vacant since May when Commissioner Sonna Singleton Gregory died following a long battle with ovarian cancer. 

Singleton Gregory had served on the Board of Commissioners for over a decade.

The candidates for election are Aleika Anderson, Jae S. Brown, Shengale Crute Thurmond, Regina Deloach, Hackwin L. Devoe, Debra Dozier-King, Junior “JJ” Jackson, Thomas Pough, Alaina Reaves and Ernest W. Strozier.

Two candidates are running for the County Board of Education (BOE) to complete the unexpired term of Anderson, who resigned to run for Commissioner.

The candidates for the unexpired BOE term are Joy Tellis Cooper and Arvis Walker.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m to 7 p.m. 

Clayton County Public Schools has said they expect all schools that are polling sites to be open for in-person instruction on election day.

Eighteen of Clayton County’s 65 precincts will be voting in the special election. All precincts will be voting for commissioner, only half will be voting for the Board of Education.

Only residents in the following zip codes are voting in this election: 30294, 30297, 30260, 30236, 30288, 30273, 30236.

Not all precincts in these zip codes will be voting.For a full list of the precincts voting in this election visit the Clayton County website.

Clayton County Board of Commissioners Regular Business Meeting on Tuesday, September 7, 2021. (Photo Credit: Clayton County via YouTube)

Madeline Thigpen is an education reporter and Report for America Corps Member. She joined the Atlanta Voice in 2021. At the Voice she covers K-12 education for the Atlanta metro region and higher education....