The Harvard Debate Council held its Harvard Debate Council Diversity Project Surprise Reveal on Thursday, June 20 at Atlanta City Hall. During the celebration, 27 African American students were rewarded with scholarship money to join Harvard’s prestigious residential Summer Program. “The students we selected were surprised with the news of their acceptance and were rewarded with scholarship money from several sponsors to attend Harvard Debate Council’s residential summer program at Harvard College,” says Executive Director of the Harvard Debate Council, Brandon Fleming. Originally, the recipients believed that they were being interviewed for admission at City Hall. However, they were very surprised to hear that they were already accepted and funded. Harvard Debate Council Diversity Project is an Atlanta-based diversity pipeline program created to raise the young social and political voice in urban Atlanta and to matriculate African American students into the Harvard Debate Council’s residential summer program for high school students at Harvard College. “No other activity (outside of academic debate) imbues young people with a skill set that will train them to be effective students, communicators, and citizens,” said Tripp Rebrovick, Ph.D. Head Coach of Debate at Harvard University. “Debate combines competition with advocacy, making it rewarding and worthwhile for even the most reluctant students to learn to research, read, speak and write successfully.” With the program, student participants will not only study debate at Harvard, but also gain academic excellence, leadership acumen, and cultural pride. The program is also designed to provide students firsthand experience of residential life at Harvard College and an opportunity to learn from accomplished debate professors and coaches. For more information, please visit Harvard Debate Council Diversity Project’s Class of 2020 is made up of: Roland Foster III Jaala Hudson Naima Johnson Allana Walker Braxton Broady Turner Davis Chloe Evans Christian Flournoy Isaiah Hicks Nigel Savage Myla Somersali Chloe Woods Jenesis Bronner Kiona Colclough Ekeminiobong Johnson Jordan Lawrence Denzil Mathis Erin Minley Meah Poret Courtney Suber Ramaya Thomas Kendrick Warren Jalil Cooper Alexis Ihezue Oluwatito Omoteso Xavier Peterson Madison Webb
(Photo Credit: Chris House)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.