The DeKalb County Board of Commissioners unanimously re-elected District 4 Commissioner Steve Bradshaw as presiding officer and Super District 7 Commissioner Lorraine Cochran-Johnson as deputy presiding officer.

The DeKalb County Board of Commissioners is comprised of seven members representing five geographical districts overlapped by two super districts.

“This is a great Board of Commissioners,” Bradshaw said. “I have respect and admiration for all my colleagues for choosing the path of public service. I remain deeply honored to sit among them as I have done for the past four years. Their vote of confidence in my leadership means a lot to me as we work together for the citizens of this great county.”

“I am honored and humbled by the renewed vote of confidence in me that has been demonstrated by my esteemed colleagues,”  he added. “And I will continue to work hard to prove myself worthy of their support.

Since taking office in January 2017, Bradshaw has served in several roles, including deputy presiding officer; County Operations Committee chair; Public Works and Infrastructure Committee chair; Planning, Economic Development, and Community Services Committee member; Ad Hoc Procurement Committee member; and Executive Evaluation Committee member.

“I would like to thank (Cochran-Johnson) for her willingness to continue to serve as deputy presiding officer,”  Bradshaw said about Cochran-Johnson’s re-appointment. “We make a good team and I look forward to continuing to work with her.”


DeKalb County commissioner Steve Bradshaw listens to citizens speak during a DeKalb County board of commissioners meeting in Decatur. (Alyssa Pointer/ AP Photo)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *