Ten Atlanta-area artists and art advocates were honored at the inaugural Hammonds House Honors, presented by the Hammonds House Museum on Sept. 12 at Southwest Arts Center.

The Hammonds House Museum has a mission is to preserve, exhibit, interpret and increase public awareness about the contributions that visual artists of African descent have made to world culture. Artistic excellence, culture and community are the focus of their vision. The awards show was created to be an annual extension of that mission.

“(The event) was an extraordinary evening of celebration and camaraderie for the Atlanta arts community,” explained Leatrice Ellzy, executive director of Hammonds House Museum. “This new signature event perfectly aligns with our mission and enables us to elevate black visual culture.

“Equally important, the event provides us with a rare opportunity to recognize and celebrate the artists, curators, arts leaders and donors who drive the cultural ecosystem,” she added.

A video tribute to iconoclast photographer Roy DeCarava kicked off the awards show. Media legend Monica Pearson hosted the event, which served as a platform to recognize individuals who elevate the visual art of the African Diaspora through their passion, creativity and commitment to artistic and cultural excellence.

Entertainment for the occasion was provided by singer Julie Dexter, keyboardist Michael Murani, poet Adán Bean and harpist Rayvin Brown with additional music spun by DJ Salah Ananse.

Hammonds House Museum is generously supported by the Fulton County Board of Commissioners, Fulton County Department of Arts & Culture, City of Atlanta Mayor’s Office of Cultural Affairs, AIDS Healthcare Foundation, Black Leadership AIDS Crisis Coalition, Georgia-Pacific, National Performance Network, Visual Artists Network, Wells Fargo, and the Lubo Fund.

The winners and honorees for this year’s Hammonds House Honors include:

Emerging Artist Award: Stacy Lynn Waddell
Creators Award: Dubelyoo Wright
Social Justice and Activism Award: Fabian Williams
Artistic Excellence Award: Sheila Pree Bright
Curatorial Excellence Award: Faron Manuel
Spriggs-Fuller Award for Arts Leadership: Franklin Sirmans
Vanguard Award: Halima Taha
Lifetime Achievement Award Honoree: Tina M. Dunkley
O.T. Hammonds Philanthropy in the Arts Award Honoree: Vicki and John Palmer


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *