City of Atlanta Mobilizes for Winter Storm

As storm approaches, city officials coordinate with state and local partners

2/11/2014, 9:21 a.m.
The City of Atlanta has mobilized for full response to the snow and freezing rain predicted to arrive in Atlanta ...
Mayor of Atlanta Kasim Reed, left, checks on progress at the Public Works North Avenue Facility with Commissioner of Public Works Richard Mendoza as Atlanta prepares for another approaching winter storm on Monday, Feb. 10, 2014, in Atlanta. Photo by Curtis Compton/AP.

Police precincts open for stranded motorists:

Zone 1- 2315 Donald Lee Hollowell Pkwy. NW Atlanta, GA. 30318

Zone 2- 3120 Maple Dr. NE Atlanta, GA 30305

Zone 3- 880 Cherokee Ave. SE Atlanta, GA 30315

Zone 4- 1125 Cascade Cir. SW Atlanta, GA 30311

Zone 5- 200 Spring St. NW Atlanta, GA 30303

Zone 6- 2025 Hosea L. Williams Dr. SE Atlanta, GA 30317

Additional shelters:

24hr Gateway - 275 Pryor Street SW, Atlanta, GA 30303, 404-215-6600

Task Force for the Homeless - 477 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30308, 404-230-5000

Fulton County Jefferson Place, 1135 Jefferson Street, Atlanta, GA 30303, 404-613-0412

Salvation Army - 100 Edgewood Avenue, N.E., Atlanta, GA, 404-527-7200

Residents and motorists should prepare for winter weather conditions.

• Plan ahead and allow extra time to reach destinations.

• Fill your car with gas.

• Make sure you have the proper emergency equipment in your car and home such as extra batteries for cell phones and chains for vehicle tires.

• When driving in icy road conditions, the shortest route is not always the safest. Consider less hilly routes in route planning.

• Slow down! Remember the faster you are going the longer it takes to stop.

For reporting of ice or hazardous roadway conditions inside the City of Atlanta, please call 404-330-6333. For areas outside the City of Atlanta, please contact the local jurisdiction responsible for emergency operations in that area.

• Cobb County – 770.528.2600

• Cherokee County – 770.345.5842

• DeKalb County – 404.294.2900

• Douglas County – 770.949.2000

• Gwinnett County – 770.822.7400

• Clayton County – 770.477.3674

• Fulton County – 404.612.7400

• City of Riverdale – Refer to Clayton County

• City of Roswell – 770.641.3715

• City of Douglasville – Refer to Douglas County

• City of Sandy Springs – 770.730.5600