Southern U QB leads BOXTOROW All-American Team

Special to The Atlanta Voice | 12/20/2013, 10:14 a.m.

Southern University quarterback Dray Joseph was named Offensive Player of the Year.

Southern University quarterback Dray Joseph was named Offensive Player of the Year.

With the season in the books, BOXTOROW releases its annual All-American team. 

Tennessee State leads the way with six selections.  TSU head coach Rod Reed was also selected BOXTOROW Coach of the Year.  With nine selections and four from national champion Bethune-Cookman; the MEAC has the most representatives of any conference.  The SWAC had seven and the CIAA had four.

Southern quarterback Dray Joseph was named BOXTOROW Offensive Player of the Year.  His teammate Lee Doss joined him as one of two wide receivers selected.

Shaw cornerback Darnell Evans was voted the Willie Davis BOXTOROW Defensive Player of the Year.

Boxtorow has selected an All-American team since 2007 and the voters are comprised of media members from around the nation that cover HBCU football.

Joseph was also named SWAC Co-Offensive Player of the Year.  He led the SWAC in passing yards (3,573) and touchdowns (30). He completed 62 percent of his passes and twice threw for over 400 yards in a game, helping lead the Jaguars to their first SWAC championship since 2003.

Isaiah Crowell of Alabama State and Jordan Anderson of Virginia State were selected as the running backs.  Crowell carried the ball 170 times for 1,121 yards and 15 touchdowns, averaging 6.6 yards per carry.  Anderson had 214 carries for 1,142 yards and 20 touchdowns.

Tennessee State guard Kadeem Edwards led all offensive linemen in votes.  The other four linemen joining Edwards includes MEAC Offensive Lineman of the Year Tristan Bellamy of South Carolina State, Jackson States Jordan Arthur and a pair of Bethune-Cookman teammates in center Andrew Edourad and Alex Monroe, a 2011 BOXTOROW All-American.

Prairie View A&M wide receiver DeAndre Cooper was an integral part of the Panthers high-powered offense which is sixth in FCS in total offense (517.6).  He led the SWAC in receptions (80) and touchdowns (12) while accumulating 1,038 receiving yards.  Doss caught 78 passes for a SWAC leading 1,172 and 11 touchdowns, averaging 15 yards per reception.  

Tight end A.C. Leonard of Tennessee State was named All-American for the second year in a row, recording 31 receptions for 441 yards, five touchdowns.

Tennessee State’s Anthony Bass was the leading vote-getter among defensive linemen.  The OVC Defensive Player of the Year registered 10 sacks, 14.5 tackles for loss, 34 tackles (18 solo), and four pass breakups.  Joining Bass on the line is teammate Antonio Harper, Andrew Carter of South Carolina State and Shonquez Nelson of Saint Augustine.  As a group the unit registered 41 sacks and 64.5 tackles for loss with Nelson leading all players in sacks (13) and tackles for loss (21.5).

MEAC Defensive Player of the Year Joe Thomas of South Carolina State leads the linebacking unit.  The Bulldogs lead FCS in total defense and he led the MEAC in tackles (116), solo tackles (84), and tackles for loss (19.5), while recording 7.5 sacks and five pass breakups.  Joining Thomas is two-time Boxtorow All-American Carlos Fields, III of Winston-Salem State, Jarkevis Fields of Bethune-Cookman and Nick Thrasher of Tennessee State, who led the OVC in tackles (112).